Wiki’s in My Classroom

In response to my 4-D-1 assignment:

Is there a particular example of a classroom wiki which inspired you? I know that there has not been just one that has inspired me. I have looked at a lot of them and like many different parts of a variety of them. I generally gravitate to the elementary only sites which lend themselves to the general likes and abilities of a 6th grader.   

 What was most challenging about creating a wiki together as a group in 
Activity 4-C-1
?  I think that the most challenging item came from deciding what each person was going to do. Once we collaborated and agreed on subtopics, we were all good with the development of our wiki. 

What did you learn from the group wiki project?  I learned that when everyone works together, you get a great end product. I liked the fact that each person provided part of our complete project and learning from them is a bonus.

Has your opinion of Wikipedia changed at all this week? Yes it has! I feel that Wikipedia has much information that should be considered truthful. I see now where many people/man hours are put into the development of each and every topic. I know that there is no way to ensure that everything is 100% correct and that there is always a % of human error that can be expected. I think that I can now have students use this site also as one form of research. I want the students to become more technologically savy and having them use this tool would enable them to be better-rounded with technology.

Are you encountering resistance to using wikis in your class, either from others or from yourself? If so, how do you plan to respond?  I can’t say I am encountering resistance in my classroom because we have not even broached the subject of using a wiki in Language Arts. I will be introducing this topic to my class during the last couple of weeks of school in an effort to try this topic in my room!! I want to see how the students respond to this and how it motivates them to possibly write more.

One thought on “Wiki’s in My Classroom

  1. jennhund says:

    I loved watching the wikis come together. It really is quite an accomplishment, and when you have a group of 4 or 5 working on the same page, so much more can be added than when only one person is creating a page–you see so much more than when you are by yourself. I’m glad you are warming up to the concept of Wikipedia!

Leave a Reply

